Visit to Sheffield Triples 16 May 2015

Living as I do near Sheffield, this is an annual pilgrimage for me!

This year’s highlights were getting a drop-in game of DBA 3 being run as part of the Northern Cup,  courtesy of Paul Mugatroyd and watching my great friend and wargaming partner, Sean Pratt, take part in a re-fight of the Battle of Grandson being run by the medieval re-enactment society Knights in Battle.

The DBA game was between Northern Welsh and Anglo-Normans.  I played the Welsh and went down gloriously to a 4-0 defeat against Scott Russell, proving that perhaps charging my army of mostly 3 Pike across a river against mutually supporting spearmen was not the right approach.  I was a bit disappointed to discover that the 3 Pike did not really get any combat advantages on steep hills as I thought that was where they were meant to be strong!  A fun game nevertheless and, as a relative beginner,  helpful to play against an experienced, informative and patient opponent.  I hope to take fuller (and more successful) part next year.

While I was being hammered in DBA, Sean was busy proving that the Burgundians can defeat the Swiss.  The game used a slightly modified version of Neil Thomas’ Ancient and Medieval Warfare rules.  This was a big battle with 16 units per side rather than the usual 8 and also included a rule modification, whereby losers in a melee were pushed back.  This made the game more dynamic as sometimes the original rules can result in a bit of a static slogging match – possibly the only thing I would want to improve in what I otherwise think is a simple and elegant rule set that gives credible results.

The table looked absolutely superb with great scenery and 28mm figures.  Sean took these photos:

sheff003_003

sheffgame004

The guys running the game were really helpful and interesting and well worth going to meet if you come across them at other shows!

As far as discarding cash at the trade stand is concerned, I picked up a pack of Donington Pecheneg Horse Archers and a couple of Asiatic wagons from Irregular with a view to creating a DBA Pecheneg Army to go with my Outpost Wargame Services Byzantine Army.

The next event for me is the Partizan Show at Newark on 31 May, when I hope to take part in a large To the Strongest game being put on by Simon Miller, the author of the rules.  Report to follow!

Leave a Reply

